Irrelevant internship vs. GRE preparation Please help decide

In summary: Most professors will be more than happy to help you out. In summary, the individual is graduating this fall and wants to take the GRE but feels like if he doesn't make a concerted effort to improve his writing, grammar, and vocabulary then he will do poorly on the writing sections. His only chance to make this effort is this summer, which conflicts with his current internship. He has two options: 1) Stay the course and try to improve his writing skills or 2) Cancel the internship and prepare for the GRE.
PNGeng
I am an undergraduate EE major specializing in signal processing and my ultimate goal is to do neuroengineering research at a university. I am graduating this Fall so I will have to take the GRE sometime during the semester.

I want to score as high as possible on the GRE but I feel like if I don't make a concerted effort to improve my writing, grammar, and vocabulary and merely "try my best" then I will do poorly on the writing sections. My only chance to make this concerted effort is this summer, which conflicts with my current internship.

The internship, however, is in a field of no interest (power distribution in MEP engineering), an industry of no interest (construction), and I will spend the entire time developing skills that I never plan to use in the future (AutoCAD). Hence, I view it as irrelevant and would have no issue cancelling.

The conflict here is that I have literally no work experience at all. If I cancel, then I will graduate college with no internship experience whatever. The only reason I haven't done so is essentially due to parental pressure. My parents want "something on my resume" and there is additional familial pressure to stick with the internship since my uncle is the one who got it for me in the first place.