Low volumetric flow rate measurement

In summary, the speaker is a mechanical engineer interning at an HVAC company who is trying to measure the resistance of a fluid through ductwork. They use a machine that measures pressure drops and takes into consideration density and air temperature. However, when testing at low flow rates, the resistance is not constant and does not match the CFD analysis. The speaker is looking for suggestions on how to get accurate measurements at low flow rates.
wrath90210
Hi everyone, I'm currently a mechanical engineer interning at an HVAC company. I need to measure the resistance of a fluid through ductwork. The CFD shows a linear curve through a plenum when plotting R vs volumetric flow rate. For example, a straight rectangular box 1 1/16” by 2.5” and 3ft long has air passes through it. The machine I use can measure pressure drops at different spots by knowing the input pressure first. Then measuring the second pressure it computes the flow rate. It also takes density and air temperature into consideration.
When running tests of 10 cubic feet per minute or lower the resistance is not constant. The CFD analysis we run shows a constant resistance value that converges. The problem is measuring this in the real world and matching it up to the CFD. Of course the CFD could be incorrect, but the problem has been known for some time.
The resistance is given by R=(DeltaP)/(volumetric flowrate^2)
When plotting 10CFM to 1CFM and calculating each resistance the curve is not a constant value as it should be. The error is the measuring equipment. At HIGH volume flowrates there is no problem, but still does occur when measuring many twists and turns through a pipe.

CMM is cubic m^3/min
as CFM is ft^3/min

Curves and data

P3 and P4 are two pressure taps. They are each a delta in pressure. Just two different locations on the plenum.

I am also aware of minor losses and major losses and the math I have done is accurate to what the machine finds.