Measuring uncertainty spec for an oscilloscope?

In summary, an oscilloscope has a horizontal time base and a vertical voltage or current axis. The uncertainty is related only to the signal.
superstrings
I just started learning about oscilloscopes and I am confused on how to calculate the uncertainty. The uncertainty measurement on the device says '1/2 the smallest division'.

I am unsure which 'division' this refers to since there are horizontal scales and vertical scales.
In my experiment I had the vertical scale set to 2 volts per div, so would the uncertainty then be 1 volt?

Engineering news on Phys.org
What is the scope manufacturer and model number?
Reading the manual comes in handy when seeking answers to such questions.

My bet is you can assume the time base (produced by the oscilloscope, horizontal axis when measuring one channel only) to be sure (or its accuracy will be listed separately in the manual), and the uncertainty is related only to the signal.

This can get more complicated when doing two channel measurements.

superstrings said:
I am unsure which 'division' this refers to since there are horizontal scales and vertical scales.
In my experiment I had the vertical scale set to 2 volts per div, so would the uncertainty then be 1 volt?
Older CRT oscilloscopes were calibrated with approximately one centimetre squares. Each of those was called a division. Those divisions were divided again by 10 to give approx 1 mm sub-divisions.

An error of half a subdivision means ±5% of the setting. So on the 2V/div range, the error is ±0.1 V.

There is usually a calibration signal test point on the CRO. Maybe a square-wave 1kHz, 0.1Vpp. Look at that to identify the calibration used for voltage and time.

Baluncore said:
Older CRT oscilloscopes were calibrated with approximately one centimetre squares. Each of those was called a division. Those divisions were divided again by 10