Merging Mech. Engineering & Chemistry for work in the Military Sectoror

In summary, the speaker is considering pursuing a double major in Mechanical Engineering and German, but is now considering dropping the German major and picking up a minor in chemistry. They are interested in pursuing a career in designing body armor and protective equipment for the military, and are considering pursuing a PhD in Materials Science. They are also seeking advice on whether the German program is worth it, if minoring in chemistry is a good idea, and if Materials Science is the right field for their interests. They also mention the possibility of working in the military sector, potentially through DARPA grants or joining the military. They are open to any advice and apologize for being long-winded.
Cameltosis
Hi there.

I am currently a freshman Mechanical Engineering major.

I'll try to keep things short. I have a vision for my future; I want to design body armor and personal protective equipment for the military/paramilitary.

This interest has lead me to pursue Mechanical Engineering as a major, but I have always had a fascination and infatuation with chemistry. I've just recently been spending more time with some of my good friends who are chem/biochem majors, and the more they show and explain their work to me, the more interested I become in the field.

I am considering maintaining my major in Mechanical Engineering, and picking up a minor in chemistry. I've been considering Grad school after graduation, and right now I'm considering moving into Materials Science for Grad school. I am looking into Materials Science because of my interest in the use of Ceramics/Ceramic Composite integration into the work I want to do designing defensive equipment.