Offset crank slider mechanism connecting rod analysis

In summary, the angle θ (measured from vertical) when the angular velocity of link AB a maximum is 8.1289°. The maximum angular velocity of link AB is 13.6329 rads-1.
sponsoraw

Homework Statement

A) Determine the value of the angle θ (measured from vertical) when the angular velocity of link AB a maximum.

B) What is the maximum angular velocity of link AB.

slider crank.JPG

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

This is a part of a bigger question. I've managed to answer all other part apart of those two. Can anyone point me in the right direction. I'm not an expert in this subject. Just let me know if you require any more data.

Physics news on Phys.org
sponsoraw said:

Homework Statement

A) Determine the value of the angle θ (measured from vertical) when the angular velocity of link AB a maximum.

B) What is the maximum angular velocity of link AB.

View attachment 86939

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

This is a part of a bigger question. I've managed to answer all other part apart of those two. Can anyone point me in the right direction. I'm not an expert in this subject. Just let me know if you require any more data.
It's likely that the other parts of the problem will help answer these.

Also, as you should know by now, you need to make an attempt at a solution.

No problem SammyS, I will include the full question and all my workings done so far.

1) For the mechanism shown in the figure included within the #1 post determine for the angle θ=45°:

a) the velocity of the piston relative to the fixed point O (VBO)
b) the angular velocity of AB about point A (i.e. ωAB)
c) the acceleration of point B relative to A (αBA)

Note: Link AB is horizontal when θ=45°.

2) Determine the value of the angle θ (measured from vertical) when:

a) the velocity of point B=0
b) the angular velocity of link AB a maximum

3) What is the maximum angular velocity of link AB?

ANSWER: