Optical proprieties of sulfur dioxide in the gaseous state

In summary: Summary:The first-year student in engineering is trying to find a way to do a presentation about geoengineering methods. He has read that sulfur dioxide is one of the geoengineering strategies that is contemplated. He has read that water strongly absorbs 170 nm light, so he is trying to find a way to use vaporized water instead of aerosols.
solar energy
TL;DR Summary
Hi, I am a second-year university student in engineering and for this year I have to do a presentation( with related experience ) about the physical implication of geoengineering methods.
Hi, I am a first-year university student in engineering and for this year I have to do a presentation( with related experience ) about the physical implication of geoengineering methods. The theoretical aspect seems quite understandable, my principal problem is to find a clear experience with the not-so-advanced laboratory instruments to which I have access.

At the start, basing myself on some research, I thought to use the refraction properties of saltwater: meanwhile, I should use water drops of a diameter range of 300-800 nm which is "instrumentally" impossible for me.

For this reason, I chose to try something different by using sulfur dioxide(that I can obtain thanks to the reaction of sodium metabisulfate with hidrochloric acid) but i this case i would only obtain its gas form(and not the aerosol form) so i fear that its propreties will be too much different.

If it is the case i though about using sulfur dioxyde in a suspension(i have seen that by a similar way we can evaluate its Trasmittance), the problem is that i should find a proper solvent(and for the moment i have no idea about).

I would be glad if can give some advices about my ideas or if you have some idea or critique to expose me.
Sincerly, A.O

Physics news on Phys.org
What do you want to do? You directly jump to details of an experiment you didn't describe.

Likes Vanadium 50