The right Curriculum for a Physics Master's Degree (Quantum Optics & Info)?

In summary, the conversation is about a student starting their M.Sc. in Physics in Germany, and their plan to focus on Quantum Information/Quantum Optics/Photonics. They are considering taking three theory courses, but have concerns about the lack of a second Quantum Mechanics course in their curriculum. They also mention their interest in doing a PhD in Quantum Information Science and their thoughts on the structure of graduate courses in Germany. Finally, there is a discussion about the relevance of different courses to their desired field of study.
Cato92
Hello everyone.

I'm starting my M.Sc. in Physics in the summer term. I'm studying in Germany and completed a standard programm in the bachelor programm which consisted of the obligatory courses like Quantum Mechanics, Electrodynamics, Statistical Mechanics and Mechanics.

I have to mention there is no obligation to take a second QM course in the Bachelor program at at least 80% of German universities. And so comes my situation:

I plan to go straight into Quantum Information/Quantum Optics/Photonics. I have the idea to take the following three theory courses (4 hours of lecture each) besides some courses in condensed matter physics and atomic physics and photonics:

- Many Body Theory (with nonrelativistic Quantum Field Theory parts)
- Theory of Quantum Information and Ultracold Atoms
- Introduction to QFT (Quantum Electrodynamics)

My questions:

1. Since Theoretical Quantum Optics is not offered every year, i decided to substitute it with Quantum Electrodynamics. Although it is offered by particle physicists, i think learning QED would be an option. I have the impression that QED is much more fundamental than Quantum Optics and therefore can offer a proper base for further studys of the interaction between light and matter. Am i right or should i wait for the Quantum Optics course?