(Physicists only): What area of physics do you specialize in

In summary, I specialize in the field of quantum mechanics, which is a branch of physics that deals with the behavior and interactions of subatomic particles. This includes topics such as wave-particle duality, quantum entanglement, and the uncertainty principle. As a physicist, my work involves studying and understanding the fundamental laws and principles of the quantum world, which has significant implications in fields such as computing, telecommunications, and materials science. My expertise in this area allows me to contribute to the advancement of our understanding of the universe and potentially unlock new applications of quantum mechanics in various industries.

(For physics PhD students, postdocs, and faculty only) What area of physics do you specialize in?

• condensed matter physics (theory)

Votes: 2 13.3%
  • condensed matter physics (experimental)

• particle physics/high energy physics (theory)

Votes: 1 6.7%
  • particle physics/high energy physics (experimental)

• particle physics/high energy physics (phenomenology)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • astrophysics/cosmology

Votes: 3 20.0%
  • photonics/optics

• geophysics

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • atmospheric physics

• biophysics

• medical physics

• other physics

Votes: 6 40.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
StatGuy2000
Education Advisor
Hi everyone! Since this is a physics forum, I was curious which area of physics research did you specialize in, so I set up this poll.

Please note the following:

1. My question is directed to current physics students, postdocs, and faculty members. You can also answer if you have completed a PhD in physics, but ended up working either in a related area or outside of physics altogether (in which case click which research area of physics you specialized in your PhD research).