Physics 1 with Calculus Advice

In summary, the speaker is an older student pursuing a degree in mechanical engineering and is currently taking a physics class. They had initially been excited for the class, but have found that their instructor's teaching methods are not effective. The exams do not align with the homework, the homework is too challenging, the grading is inflated, and the instructor lacks organization and relies too heavily on derived calculations. The speaker is seeking advice on how to better understand the material and is considering approaching the instructor about their concerns. The speaker is reminded to take their education into their own hands and not rely solely on the instructor's teaching methods.
Overcenter76
Hello,

I would like to give a little background information, I'm an older than average student who has been working toward earning a degree in mechanical engineering (BSME). Attending the local community college has been a long and arduous task, a mix of full-time and part-time for the better part of three years now, but I apply to my four year school at the end of this term.

I was excited to be taking physics this semester, it is a subject I have had an interest in for some time now; however, by the time I had taken my first exam I could see a pattern in my instructor that soured my taste for this class. My professor while being a nice guy and having a passion for physics is just not the strongest instructor in my opinion.
Here are some of my examples:

-The content of his exams and the content of the homework do not even come close to coinciding. I have taken three of his exams now, and the homework while from the same sections of the book as the exam, using the homework to prep for the exam is no help.