Physics Graduate School in UK/Germany/Europe

In summary, the system in the UK is more complicated than in Germany, and the salary/scholarship for a PhD student is usually quite a small part of the cost of a project.
abilolado
Hello all.
I had a few questions about obtaining a PhD in UK and/or Europe.
I am currently an Undergrad physics student from Brazil studying in the US, once I am done I will pursue my PhD in some other university, since my current one, unfortunally, does not have a Physics Grad program.
My dream is to be able to study in the UK or Germany (or somewhere in Europe really, but mainly UK or Germany).
However I could not find the answer as to a question. Is physics grad school free on those places?
I know that one is usually funded to study physics in grad school here in the US, and is ofted paied to do research. Making obtaining a PhD essentially free. Is it the same in the UK/Germany? I would only think that yes, given the long history those countries have with the study of physics, but I could find no sources that sould affirm it.
I am a 3.9 GPA student at SHSU - TX.
Thank you in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org
Here is some sample information on the subject :

http://www.swansea.ac.uk/postgraduate/scholarships/

http://www.swansea.ac.uk/international/students/fees-and-funding/brazil/

Note that there are lots of different pages with relevant information . You have to dig around on the site to get the complete picture .

Last edited:
I am in the US but know people who did/are doing their PhDs in the UK and Germany.