Power Electronics Book with DIY Projects

In summary, the conversation discusses a recent Electrical Engineering graduate's interest in finding DIY projects related to Power Electronics to gain hands-on experience for their resume. They consider building an e-bike, e-skateboard, or e-scooter with a self-designed speed controller as a potential project. The graduate also contemplates doing projects related to high power audio amplifiers but wonders if it would be better to stick to power electronics projects due to their specialization in Power Systems. They also mention their hope that entry-level positions would not be too specific in terms of hiring candidates.
victor1992
I am a recent Electrical Engineering grad specializing in Power Systems. Are there any books with DIY projects relating to Power Electronics? I would like to do some projects that I will be able to put on my resume so employers will see that I have hands-on experience.

Physics news on Phys.org
Does it have to be a book? There's a lot of articles on the net about building your own e-bike, e-skateboard, or e-scooter. If you design and build the speed controller yourself it's a good way to demonstrate skills in motor controls. Plus it's a fun project and you get something useful out of it.

That's true, I'll look into some projects I can find online. Also, since I specialized in Power Systems, would it be good for me to do some projects relating to high power audio amplifiers? Or should I stick to power electronics projects since it relates to my specialization. Although I didnt specialize in microelectronics, I would hope that entry-level positions wouldn't be too specific when hiring potential candidates.

1. What is power electronics?