Power Your Bug Zapper with Solar: 12V DC to 12V AC Conversion Guide

In summary: It's a common symbol for a rectifier. It's a symbol for a transformer that converts AC to DC.There's also a small label that says "SOLAR CHARGED - 12 VOLT".Thanks!In summary, the battery is 14 AH and the zapper is a model 8401-4501-01 with LED 12V, 1.3W. When looking up the model number, it was not clear to Phil if all low voltage landscape systems are AC or DC, so he asked the manufacturer if AC or DC is OK. Assuming it is DC, he connected it directly to the battery and found that the zapper draws about .11A and provides 127 hours of operation
Phil12
Hey all,

A 'rank' newbie here, so please bear with me. ;-)

I have a 'solar charged' 12V battery (with charger) for an electric fence charger. I'd like to use this solar charger and battery to power a 12V AC (I think) low voltage landscape bug zapper. It 'must' be 12V AC, I think?

Is there a fairly easy/cheap way to do this, or am I having pipe dreams?

Thanks!

Phil

Engineering news on Phys.org
It might be very simple, but you need to know more about each of the components.

How many amp-hours is the battery?

What is the actual power requirement for the bug zapper? Saying "12V AC (I think)", isn't going to get you there. How much voltage, how much current? AC or DC? Maybe a model number of the device if you can't determine this info.

Likes davenn
The Battery is 14 AH. The Zapper is Malibu Landscape Lighting Model 8401-4501-01. It says LED 12V, 1.3W.

Thanks!

When I looked up that model number, it does not include a power supply, it says to use with a low voltage landscape system. It wasn't 100% clear to me if all those systems are AC or DC, or what the voltage tolerance is. What were you using to power the bug Zapper? What are the specs or readings on it (do you have a meter?)?