Proof of trace theorems for gamma matrices

In summary: It can be thought of as a gauge field on the Minkowski space, and as such is associated with the derivative of the metric.
tb87
Hi,

I'm currently going through Griffith's Particle Physics gamma matrices proofs. There's one that puzzles me, it's very simple but I'm obviously missing something (I'm fairly new to tensor algebra).

1. Homework Statement

Prove that ##\text{Tr}(\gamma^\mu \gamma^\nu) = 4g^{\mu\nu}##, ##\text{Tr}## being the trace and ##g^{\mu\nu}## the Minkowski metric.

Homework Equations

##g_{\mu\nu} \gamma^\mu = \gamma_\nu##
##\text{Tr}(\alpha A) = \alpha\text{Tr}(A)##
##g_\mu g^\mu = 4I_4##

The Attempt at a Solution

I get : ##\text{Tr}(\gamma^\mu \gamma^\nu) = \text{Tr}(g^{\mu\nu} \gamma_\nu \gamma^\nu) = g^{\mu\nu} \text{Tr}(4I_4) = 16 g^{\mu\nu}##

What am I missing there?

Edit : I think this is related to the space in which you evaluate ##\gamma## (which I still have a hard time to understand - Minkowski space vs 4-vect space I think? where ##\gamma## is a set of matrices in the first and a vector in the second?). In fact, Griffith says that ##\gamma_\mu\gamma^\mu=4## while on Wikipedia it is rather ##\gamma_\mu\gamma^\mu=4I_4##. My proof would work if I considered Giffith's identity, but then how do I distinguish in which context ##\gamma_\mu\gamma^\mu## is equal to 4 rather than ##4I_4## ?

Thanks!
Alex

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
You don't have a summation, so the relationship ##\gamma_\mu \gamma^\mu = 4## isn't useful here. Note that ##\gamma_\mu\gamma^\mu## is a matrix, so when you say it's equal to 4, that's a sloppy way of saying it's 4 times the identity matrix.

Try starting with the anticommutation relation the gamma matrices satisfy and take the trace of both sides.

vela,