Self studying physics and math: How to proceed?

In summary, a 16 year old self-taught physicist is struggling with mastering more advanced concepts in calculus and classical mechanics. He worries about whether or not his lack of foundational knowledge will hinder his future learning.
Iridium77
Hello, so I am a 16 year old passionate about physics and mathematics, I’ve pretty much self taught myself everything.
Before you start saying that I’ve got to focus on what I have, I am nailing everything science related, straight As, but I find them quite easy and I REALLY want to move on.
I am not from the USA, so I can’t really describe exactly where I’m at right now, but I can safely say I am starting Precalc at my school, and some analytical geometry, and for physics, we have been introduced to forces and how to setup coordinate systems ect, well the problem is, I’ve nailed my calculus and my classical mechanics 2 years ago, I am at a rather advanced level of Calc, and I’m going through Taylor’s classical mechanics atm.
What I’m getting at is, self learning is really hard, sometimes I run into a small detail that I’ve missed, and it really bothers me sometimes, here’s an example, I am going through Griffith’s Electrodynamics, but I found myself missing some small details in linear algebra even though I also went through it thoroughly.
Will this affect me? Sometimes I start doubting myself and think of just quitting, maybe what I’m doing is wrong or something.
I’m kind of lost, and if you have some good linear algebra books, I’d highly appreciate it if you give me some good titles.
Thanks for wasting your time reading about this irrelevant post.
(Ugh after I read it, I came out as a pretentious Little prick, that’s not what I’m getting it, sorry)

Physics news on Phys.org
Physics is not a race.

You're trying to rush through it 5 or 10 times faster than it's usually taught, and are discovering that when you do this you're missing things. Why is this surprising?