Self-Studying: Theoretical Calculus vs Analysis

In summary, the conversation is about a student seeking advice on which mathematics books to study in order to improve their understanding of single-variable calculus and proofs. They are considering starting with either "advanced" calculus books or introductory analysis books and are seeking recommendations. The student also mentions their future plans to attend a graduate program in applied math or pure math.
bacte2013
Dear Physics Forum advisers,

I am a sophomore in US with double majors in mathematics and microbiology; my current computational/mathematical biology research got my interested in the mathematics, particularly the Analysis and Algebra, and led me to start with calculus II (computational aspect) and discrete mathematics. My coursework plan is to take multi-variable calculus on summer and introductory analysis & theoretical linear algebra & mathematical statistics on Fall 2015. My calculus II course uses the specialized course packet and I have been using "Calculus with Analytic Geometry" by George Simmons to supplement it. However, I want to learn more about the single-variable calculus and proofs behind it because I am really interested in them and computational aspect does not satisfy me. Since I do not have heavy course load on this semester, I have a lot of time to devote on self-studying the mathematics.

My plan is to either start with "advanced" calculus books like Apostol vol.I, Courant vol.I, Peter Lax, and Spivak OR introductory analysis books like Rudin (PMA), Zorich, Apostol (mathematical analysis), Strichartz, Abott, Ross, and Pugh. I am fairly good with proof methodology which I learned from my current discrete mathematics course and "How to Prove It" by Velleman. Should I jump right into those analysis books or should I start with those advanced calculus books? I already finished with Simmons book and course packet except for the series & sequence chapters.