Stress tensor and pressure relationship

Seyn
캡처.PNG

I'm studying with Currie's Fundamental Mechanics of Fluids, Fourth edition.
I'm confusing with the above statement; the force acting in the x2 direction is P2=s12n1 which is n1 direction.
Is there anybody help me to understand this subject?

Physics news on Phys.org
Seyn said:
the force acting in the x2 direction is P2=s12n1 which is n1 direction.
No, ##P_2=\sigma_{12}n_1## is the second component of a vector. That vector is the result of multiplying your original normal vector by a matrix, so can be in an arbitrary direction. Its second component is the component in the direction of your second basis vector.

Note that I think the author has tried to simplify the notation slightly, and I think he's done it in an unhelpful way. The point is that there's a normal vector ##\vec n## which he has chosen to be parallel to the first basis vector, so in component form it is ##(n_1,0,0)^T##. So I'd say that "the unit normal vector ... is ##n_1##" is possibly confusing the issue - ##n_1## is a component of a vector (in this case, the only non-zero component, but still only a component), not a vector itself.

Ibix said:
No, ##P_2=\sigma_{12}n_1## is the second component of a vector. That vector is the result of multiplying your original normal vector by a matrix, so can be in an arbitrary direction. Its second component is the component in the direction of your second basis vector.

Note that I think the author has tried to simplify the notation slightly, and I think he's done it in an unhelpful way. The point is that there's a normal vector ##\vec n## which he has chosen to be parallel to the first basis vector, so in component form it is ##(n_1,0,0)^T##. So I'd say that "the unit normal vector ... is ##n_1##" is possibly confusing the issue - ##n_1## is a component of a vector, not a vector itself.
Do you mean the point is,
##\vec{P}=(P_1,P_2,P_3)## and,
##P_j=\sigma_{ij}n_i##
so
##\vec{P}=\sigma_{ij}n_i \hat{e_j}##??