Summer Research for Internationals?

In summary, the conversation discusses the challenges international students face when looking for research or internship opportunities in the U.S. due to citizenship and visa restrictions. Suggestions are provided, such as looking for opportunities within the university or reaching out to professors with research grants. However, competition for these positions may be intense.
Chli
Hi, I'm an international student attending university in the U.S.. I am currently half way through my freshman year and I would like to be involved with some research or an internship over the summer. Almost all of the guides for research that I have found were exclusive to U.S. citizens and permanent residents. Are any of you aware of internships that would welcome international students to apply? Any help and advice you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
Chli said:
Hi, I'm an international student attending university in the U.S.. I am currently half way through my freshman year and I would like to be involved with some research or an internship over the summer. Almost all of the guides for research that I have found were exclusive to U.S. citizens and permanent residents. Are any of you aware of internships that would welcome international students to apply? Any help and advice you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

The difficulty that you may be finding is issues with paying a person for work while he/she is on a student visa. In addition, many U. S. government-run/funded programs require US citizenship or permanent resident status (e.g. NSF REU sites). I suspect that many schools would allow you to do research over the summer for course credit, to get around the citizen/permanent resident requirements; of course, you would likely be paying tuition for these credits.

First find out what opportunities are available at or through your own university, assuming it has a halfway decent research program.