Understanding Physics and Maths Terminology for Self-Study

In summary, the individual is an IGCSE student who has just finished their board examinations and is now preparing for their AS/A2 levels before pursuing engineering. They are trying to self-study in the fields of Maths and Physics in preparation for an entrance exam for IIT in 2 years. However, they are struggling with understanding the terminology and symbols used in CBSE style and other styles of Physics and Maths. They have encountered difficulty with topics such as Logorithms and Complex Numbers and are seeking help in understanding the symbols and concepts. They have tried using online resources, but still do not understand the equations and symbols used. They are asking for a basic introduction to the symbols and workings of Logorithms and other concepts.
ZoraxDoom
Hello. First, I'd like to make it clear, I am an IGCSE student who has just finished his board examinations, and is now getting ready to do is AS/A2 levels before pursuing engineering.

I'm trying to do some studying on my own, outside for school, particularly in the fields of Maths and Physics as I want to give an entrance exam for IIT in 2 years, and wish to get into a prestigious college as well as making my studying life in future years a bit easier.

But there is a problem I am encountering when I attempt to study the CBSE style or any other style for Physics and Maths.

I don't understand a bloody thing.

And it's not because I don't get what these books are trying to teach, it is because I just don't get the terminology and the symbols they use. I looked at one tutorial guide here (https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=72040), and didn't understand any equation he wrote there! For example, what does that weird F and the small e mean? What's with the arrows? What is x supposed to stand for? What about the capital A?