Understanding the Use of Comparator for Digital Integrator

• Thread starter delonboard
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Comparator
In summary: You can think of "a" as a variable that controls how much of the sinewave goes into the accumulator. In summary, you are trying to create an up/down counter that counts up and counts down and the accumulator will overflow if the input signal is too high or too low. You need to use a comparator to compare the input signal to a setpoint and increment the accumulator if the input signal is above the setpoint.
Engineering news on Phys.org
delonboard said:
I am trying to build a digital integrator as specified on this thread. I do not understand the use of comparator in the circuit. Can anyone explain?? maybe the original poster. I am new to this .
The original poster last logged-in in 2008 so it is probably wishful thinking that OP may reply. @nokeeauser

Perhaps one of the other participants might see your post.

In which of those files is the comparator shown?

Forget about the link to that post. This is my design for 4 bit digital integrator. I will cascade two of the parts for 8 bits which is what i need. My problems:
The sum overflows too fast. According to the problem i have to implement incremental output which can be implemented with the carry out of the integrator. I am not sure how to get it. It says to use combination logic.

Attachments

• Capture09.PNG
    Capture09.PNG
    91.2 KB · Views: 522
I'm a little confused by what I see. (but that happens a lot)

A counter that counts up and counts down is essentially an integrator of a +1, -1 input signal. I'm not sure what you are going for with the accumulator following it.

The counter is integrating, and the accumulator is integrating that.

You basic question about cascading up/down counters is answered by figures a, b, and c in this datasheet. (three different methods, b is probably what you want)
http://www.futurlec.com/74LS/74LS191.shtml