Voltage and current in a resistor

In summary: I am a student and I struggle with these concepts all the time. Thank you for your help.In summary, voltage is a potential and current is the resulting flow of charges. When it comes to a resistor, the resistance draws a current from the circuit as well as a voltage. Voltage drop across a resistor/element is the amount of the total potential (from the source) that the element "eats up" from the total potential.
mohammad_adam
So I know that voltage is a sort of pressure due to an imbalance of charges. And current is the resulting flow of charges. So when it comes to a resistor, does the resistance draw a current from the curcuit as well as a voltage? And what is meant by "voltage drop" across a resistor/element. Please use analogies in your answers please and thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org