What does it by parametric instability?

In summary, the conversation discusses the difference between parametric instability and resonance. The speaker explains that parametric instability is a broader concept, addressing the question of how sensitive a system's response is to changes in parameters. This is in contrast to resonance, which focuses on the details of the driving force behind an oscillation. Additionally, parametric instability can be used in both sensitivity analyses and as an integral part of device functioning.
jollage
Hi,

I'm majoring in fluid mechanics. I notice some researchers are using the phrase parametric instability. I googled it, it seems this comes from the solid mechanics (vibration). Can you explain to me what's the difference between parametric instability and the resonance? They seem the same thing to me according to the explanations I found on web.

Thanks.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Parametric stability has a wider use than you are thinking. Suppose you are working on an engineering problem. If you know the exact parameter values of the problem, and you know that they will never change at all, then you can solve the problem. But what if those parameters change a little? Will your answers change a little, or will the answers change completely? Will the system become unstable? Parametric stability addresses the question of how sensitive your answers are to the parameters of the problem.

P.S. You will probably never have a real-world problem where you know the exact parameters and can say that they will never change.