Which universities in Australia offer a PhD in Astronomy?

In summary, the speaker is a Physics master's student from India in Texas who wants to pursue a PhD in Astronomy in Australia. They have heard that Australia is good at observational and radio astronomy but are having trouble finding specific universities that offer a doctorate in radio astronomy. They ask for help from forum members and are given suggestions to check out Curtin University, University of Western Australia, Swinburne University, and Australian National University.
subny
Hi

I am a Physics masters student from India in a college in Texas.

I want to pursue a PhD in Astronomy (observational/radio) Australia.

I have heard Australia is very good at obs astronomy - however google searches are revealing a lot about the telescopes and other facilities there but not much about the names of the Universities that offer a doctorate in Radio astronomy.

To that end I want to approach the forum members for some help - does anyone of you know which are the universities in Australia to which we can apply for a doctorate in Astronomy.

Thanks

Astronomy news on Phys.org
I don't know much about the fields of astronomy or institute that are good at it but a quick search shows:
http://astronomy.curtin.edu.au/
http://www.astro.uwa.edu.au/students/research_projects

You can look at the list of top AU universities in some ranking list and go through the website of each of them. Most should have at least some sort of research in astronomy with staff willing to take PhD students. I'm guessing your will have better luck with the ones in the west coast for geographical reasons (don't quote me on this).

Try:-
Swinburne University Centre for Astrophysics and Super Computing (in Melbourne)
Australian National University (ANU) (in Canberra)

1. What is the process for obtaining a PhD in astronomy in Australia?