Why do maglev trains use attraction vs repulsion

In summary, both systems are dynamically unstable and require complex control systems in order to function safely.
Paul Aitken
I'm trying to find out why EMS maglev trains use magnetic attraction instead of repulsion. Given that the attractive force diminishes with distance it seems the forces would have to match exactly or else one of the two forces would win out and the train would come to a grinding halt.

But with like polarity between the track and train, any variation in the distance between the two would be self-correcting. As the train got closer to the track, magnetic repulsion would increase.

What am I missing? Excuse my ignorance if the answer is obvious. I'm a curious layman.

Reference https://www.physicsforums.com/threads/why-do-ems-maglev-trains-use-attraction-instead-of-repulsion.912614/

Engineering news on Phys.org
Paul Aitken said:
I'm trying to find out why EMS maglev trains use magnetic attraction instead of repulsion.

they don't, at least not to levitate the train
to move the train they use both

you need to do some googling and reading about maglev trains
then ask specific questions relating to anything you read that you don't understand
in that case , supply links to what you were reading and the part you were unsure about :smile:

regards
Dave

Thanks Dave. Here's what I'm basing this on.

http://emt18.blogspot.ca/2008/10/maglev-suspension-systems.html

And specifically the following excerpt:

The electromagnetic suspension EMS uses attractive force system to levitate. The train’s levitation magnet will be attracted to the conductors on the underside of the guideway. The attractive force between them will overcome the gravitational force. This will in turn levitates the train on the track.

My question is: Why attraction as opposed to repulsion?