Understanding MWI: A Newbie's Guide to Quantum Physics and the Multiverse

• Thread starter confusedashell
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Mwi
In summary, the author expresses their confusion about the many-worlds interpretation of quantum physics, and challenges those who still believe in a single universe to explain where quantum computations are performed.
confusedashell
I'm a complete newbie on quantum physics and I don't think my mind is made to understand such complex features of science.
Although I've stumbled upon a few MWI articles that has melted my mind down a bit.

What I do not understand is, let's suppose MWI is true.
Does this state I am constantly moving form one universe to another, that my mother is not really my mother?

Or does it state we are all in the same universe all the time? like this universe with all the conscious humans in it is constnatly branching off in the same universe?
and that the other "worlds" are the other worlds, always separate from this world that is consitant?
So I can stop thinking every person I meet is a new person even if it's my brother I grew up with?

this **** is tearing my sanity apart, please clear this up for me in layman terms if your so nice:)

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
It is entirely meaningless to say the many-worlds interpretation is "true" or "untrue". It is merely an interpretation of the equations, and it has no independent consequences on our experiences or experiments. Whether there is one world undergoing quantum probabilistic evolution from one state to the next, or many worlds bifurcating at every possible juncture such that their overall structure obeys quantum principles, is really just a matter of definition (or abstraction). It has no bearing on the actual physics.

this meaning there is one universe and not 95728958932085732785920 as David Deutsch says?