Overcoming Poor Undergraduate Performance to Pursue Math PHD

In summary, the speaker is currently working as a programmer in an IT company in Shanghai. They have been graduated for 4 years with a major unrelated to math or physics, but have recently found answers to their philosophical questions in pure mathematics and theoretical physics. They are considering applying for a pure Math PHD program, despite their poor undergraduate transcript and GRE score. They are currently studying Garrity's book and are seeking suggestions on how to pursue their passion for mathematics. They are aware of the challenges they may face, but are determined to work hard and pursue their dreams.
rain.w
I'm now a programmer in a Shanghai based IT company. I have been graduated from
college for 4 years and my major in college is not math or physics related. But I kept
thinking my "philosophical stuff" along and recently found there's answers for me in
both pure mathematics and theoretical physics(M-theory/LQG, etc). so I decided to
apply for a pure Math PHD study to make a sound base to do researching job.
it's some difficult for me because:
My undergraduate transcript just show very poor performance, also in those math
classes as calculus, linear algebra and probability theory. and recently I got my first
and terrible GRE score and a TOEFL 537.
Someone told me I'll be competitive if I had journal papers. I think this is interesting
on this condition that my goal is just present my thoughts in academic paper after
learn mathematics systematically in graduate school. for now, if I have ability to
send serious paper I would most probably not that urge to apply for a graduate study.
now I'm learning Garrity's book, All the Mathematics You Missed...
I'm looking for your suggestion, thank you!

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
a small chance