3.)tunnel and photoelectric effects

In summary, tunneling is possible when the energy of the particle is less than the barrier's work function and the particle is in an excited state for a short amount of time.
GAGS
hello,
'QUERY3
I think we all know about tunnel effect of quantum, Also when I was studying photoelectric effect, I studied that emission of electrons for a electro-magnteic radiation of frequency less than threshold frequency is quite impossible.
But then how can we say that particle having less energy than that of barrier,is probable to pass through or in short having finite TRANSMISSION PROBABILITY

Physics news on Phys.org
Tunneling has three components: 1) energy of the particle, 2) energy of the barrier, and 3) width of the barrier. Obviously, we would decrease tunneling with an increased barrier width.

Well, the case of the photoelectric effect, the energy barrier is the difference in the vacuum level and the Fermi level; this is called the workfunction of the metal. How about the width of the barrier? Well if we're just talking about metal to vacuum, then the barrier width is infinite. Therefore tunneling will not occur.

GAGS said:
hello,
'QUERY3
I think we all know about tunnel effect of quantum, Also when I was studying photoelectric effect, I studied that emission of electrons for a electro-magnteic radiation of frequency less than threshold frequency is quite impossible.
But then how can we say that particle having less energy than that of barrier,is probable to pass through or in short having finite TRANSMISSION PROBABILITY

In addition to what has been said, there is also another aspect that you need to consider - the length of time that the electron is in a particular state.