Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

480V Split phase / 400V Threephase (AUS)

1. Jul 31, 2016 #1
    HI there,

First post here, I hope I can get out into the forum and provide some answers to you in the future.

I am an Electrician here In Australia and spent my career so far in Industrial.

Currently I have a job which is putting me to the test so I thought someone might be able to offer some advice to me.

The situation:
    A customer who is a Hydroponic farmer currently has "2 Phase" "Split phase" (480V) Whichever you like to call it. Three phase isn't available as it's in a rural area and the power is coming in via a SWER line.

He has approx 12Kw of pumps on one of the phases + House. The other phase has the processing machinery (only runs 3 Days a week) and refrigeration,

He approached me to install a three phase generator with auto start on the farm.

I can see installing a 2 phase Genny will come up, But they are expensive compared to a three phase here as 2 phase isn't common at all these days.

So My question for the EE forum so I can proceed with how to design this is.

1 - Is having unbalanced Phases on a generator detrimental to the life of it (30-40kVA)

2- If each phase has to be balanced, How close can they be. ~10-15%

3- What is an acceptable startup current ( imagine 10 Pumps firing up at once)

4- If I need to balance the load out, As processing happens only three times per week, + 1 phase won't even be connected. What can I use- IE just go run a few big resistors to "waste" the power?

Please fell free to ask for more information!!

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 1, 2016 #2

jim hardy

Science Advisor
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

SWER ?
    Single Wire Earth Return (SWER) ?

i guess i dont understand the concept of two phases on as single wire.

4. Aug 1, 2016 #3
  5. Aug 1, 2016 #4

Averagesupernova

Science Advisor
    Gold Member