Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

AC Current in GHz Frequency and Zero Resistance

1. Mar 23, 2017 #1
    Hello Experts,

I am a physics newbie with big ideas. I have a question.
    I am thinking about how to produce a zero Resistance Current.
    We know we can do this using super-conductors in sub zero temperature, but maybe there's another way.

My assumptions (which could be wrong):
    1) Resistance in a wire is caused by electrons traveling and HITTING other atoms as they move from proton to proton. This hitting causes electrons to lose power and transfer energy into heat.

2) Speed of Electrons in a copper wire is about 2.5 x 10-4 m/s (2500000000nm / s)
    3) Copper Atomic Spacing 0.256 nm
    4) In an alternating current (AC), electrons are pulled back and forth typically at 60hz.

5)
    This means:

Time = 1 / Frequency
    Time = 1/ 60 hz = 0.166 seconds

Which means every 0.166 seconds, our alternating current switches directions.
    Now let's talk distance:

Distance = Speed * Time
    Distance = Speed of Electrons in a copper wire (2.5 x 10-4 m/s) * 0.166 seconds
    Distance = 2500000000nm/second * 0.166 seconds
    Distance = 416666666.666 nanometers

Which means that a typical electron travels 416666666.666 nanometers every time our alternating current switches directions

Now that means that our electron is hitting some protons as it travels. How many?

Given that Copper Atomic Spacing is about 0.256 nm

Number of Atoms Hit = Number of Copper Atoms / Copper Atomic Spacing
    Number of Atoms Hit = 416666666.666 nm / 0.256 nm = 162760416.666 copper atoms

That' a lot of atoms to possibly hit.

My Question: