Acceleration of gravity conflicts with F=MA, why?

In summary: LearningDaMath has just started learning about forces.The Earth's ability to exert the appropriate amount of force on an object, regardless of its mass, to maintain a constant acceleration is known as the Equivalence Principle. It is a fundamental principle in the theory of gravity and remains a mystery in terms of why it exists.
LearninDaMath
I just started learning about forces. Here is what is confusing me.

First, they say that no matter the mass of an object, it will accelerate towards Earth at exactly the same rate. So a car and a baseball would hit the ground at the same time even though their masses differ.

However, they also say that A = F/M which states that if there is some force (such as the force of gravity), and acceleration changes as a mass changes.

So a car and a baseball have two different masses. So one law states that their accelerations will be different from each other due to differing masses. And the other law states that their accelerations will be the same as each other regardless of their differeing masses.

What am i missing here?

Physics news on Phys.org
You're missing the fact that the gravitational force on each object is proportional to its mass. If the same force acts on two different masses, then the more massive one would accelerate less. But with gravity the force increases with mass, leading to a constant acceleration for all falling bodies.

LearninDaMath said:
I just started learning about forces. Here is what is confusing me.

First, they say that no matter the mass of an object, it will accelerate towards Earth at exactly the same rate. So a car and a baseball would hit the ground at the same time even though their masses differ.

However, they also say that A = F/M which states that if there is some force (such as the force of gravity), and acceleration changes as a mass changes.