Adding GPIO to Microcontroller with CPLD

• Thread starter j777
  • Start date
In summary, you will need an input register with a Tri-statable output register, each output flop will have an individual Tri-state enable, and that will be driven by the pin direction register.
j777
Hi,

I would like to use a CPLD to add additional GPIO to a microcontroller. I've never used a CPLD before so I'm in search of a good book that will get me up to speed. Does anybody have any recommendations on books or other applicable material?

Thanks

Engineering news on Phys.org
Usually additional GPIO just involves address decoding.
I might think a small PLD would be sufficient for that.
What are you trying to do?

As NoTime says, you might be able to use a smaller PAL instead of a CPLD, but even the 32-cell CPLDs are pretty simple to use. I like the Vantis Mach-3 series, because they have nice wide minterm capability. Here is the Application Note page at Lattice Semiconductor's website:

http://www.latticesemi.com/dynamic/index.cfm?fuseaction=view_category&document_type=31&jsessionid=ba30f8f9aba5x$3F$3F$

Thanks for the suggesstions but I'm looking at using an Altera MAXII CPLD because I would like to add 2 8bit input ports (Port A and B), 2 8bit output ports (Port C and D, 2 8bit GPIO ports (Port E and F), address decoding for these ports, and possibly an interface to a serial ADC.

This is my first time using a CPLD (or any PLD for that matter) so I have a nice little adventure ahead of me.

The CPLD is attached to an 8bit multiplexed bus with ALE, RD, and WR strobes. So far I have the CPLD latch the address from the bus and use tri-state buffers to read ports A and B and write to ports C and D. A latch is also used on ports C and D to latch the output values from the buffer. If I want to be able to read ports C and D is it as simple as using an additional tri-state buffer per port to put the latched output values onto the data bus? Or is there a better way to do this?