Advice for a productive winter break

• Thread starter queerk
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Break
In summary, some tips for staying productive during winter break include setting specific goals, prioritizing tasks, creating a schedule, taking breaks, and staying organized. By following these tips, you can make the most of your break and achieve your goals.
queerk
Hi there!

This is my first post on PF, so I apologize if this isn't the correct subforum for this topic, but I'm looking for your advice! I'm a first-year undergraduate with two weeks of winter break left to burn, and I've gotten my fill of the obligatory sleeping and eating and visiting with family. I want to spend the next two weeks as productively as possible, so I'd like to pose the question: with two weeks of free time, what would you do? Now, of course, there are some limitations:
  • I have a decent background in single variable calculus, but nothing much beyond that.
  • I am currently in an introductory (re: calculus-based) physics course, but from past courses I do have a pretty extensive conceptual/basic mathematical (re: some calculus) introduction to some physics, ranging from modern and particle physics to astrophysics. I also worked for a year as part of a neutrino physics group while in high school, and did some extremely basic stuff as part of that.
  • I have a pretty terrible foundation in programming, but I do have (or at least used to have) some basic knowledge of FORTRAN, C++, and Python from past coursework/working with the neutrino physics group.