1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Advice needed on College Major

1. Sep 8, 2011 #1
    Hello,

I am only a freshman in college and I'm taking calc 3, etc. In other words, before I know it I will be taking the "core" classes for the major I chose...Mechanical Engineering.

I always had my mind set on ME for the sole reason that the physics aspect of cars was so interesting to me. I gained considerable knowledge about the car, turbo systems, etc as a result thinking ME would be the best major for me.

I was planning on doing a BS in Mech then MS in Automotive engineering. However, I decided to look into the job market and see the average ME job and I was shocked. There were no jobs for automotive engineers AND worst most of the ME jobs were jobs like making a coffee machine more efficient.

And not to mention the down right LOW starting salary. I mean 50-55k beginning? Hell, game developers get 75K starting and that is definitely funner than making a toaster toast your bread quicker.

You may be saying, WELL become a software engineer.

No.

My MAIN goal is to major in something that I will be able to go off on my own and start my own business after 5-7 years MAX working with another.
    Software Engineer you can't unless you have a RADICAL new idea or if you have loads of money.
    Computer Hardware/Electrical you could.
    Mechanical Eng definitely: anything with cars (gears, pistons, etc.)

I would like to have a job in something related to my future business so I will have the experience/knowledge.

So my question is: is my outlook on ME true and not skewed in the least bit. And what major do you think I would most likely benefit from the most considering my main goal is to make a business.