Advice on High School Math Advancement

In summary, a freshman at a small, rural high school in North Carolina is considering attending a residential Junior and Senior high school in Durham to take advantage of the high level math and physics classes that the school offers. The student is worried about the difficulty of taking AP classes online, and whether or not having a teacher present would be beneficial.
borntobepi
I am a freshman from North Carolina currently enrolled in a small high school in the middle of nowhere. Earlier this year I decided to try to dig myself out of the hole I am in and begged my counselor to let me take two maths, Honors Geometry and Honors Algebra II.

I am doing well in both of these classes (100 average in both) and have A's in all of my other classes. I wish to attend a residential Junior and Senior high school over in Durham, The North Carolina School of Science and Math. This school offers high level math and physics classes and I would like to take AP Calculus prior to attending to allow myself to take full advantage of the opportunities there.

My question is how should I go about advancing myself. I can take pre-calc over the summer on the NCVPS (online) or I may be able to skip it entirely. Then I have the option of taking AP calc AB in a classroom (highest math at my school.) or taking AP calc BC (harder) online. I'm skeptical about taking such an important class (or am I wrong?) online, and I think the the presence of a teacher for questions may be beneficial.

I will admit that am pretty scared to ask my counselor to advance myself again after the ordeal I had to go to just to take two maths. It should also be noted that only Juniors and Seniors are allowed to take AP classes(because of this there is a 34 way tie for 1st in the sophomore class!) under normal circumstances.
Any and all advice is welcome. Thank you in advance.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org