Advice on Ultrasonic sensors?

I am new to sensors and am looking for an ultrasonic sensor with a range up to 16-18 feet for very low costs (<$10). Most sensors I have found for this project are pricey relative to the cost I imagined. Are these type of sensors the best option if I am looking for low cost/long distance proximity sensing. This sensor is used for proximity purposes and does not need high accuracy. Any advice is appreciated.

Answers and Replies

anorlunda
Staff Emeritus
Insights Author
I did quick searches for ultrasonic sensors on Amazon and eBay. I found several devices <$10 and even one for $0.96.

I did quick searches for ultrasonic sensors on Amazon and eBay. I found several devices <$10 and even one for $0.96.
They all have very low detection ranges (~cm), I am looking for 'long distance' (16-18ft).

Nidum
Science Advisor
Gold Member
Optical systems work much better at that sort of distance . Could you just use a cheap ready made laser distance measuring device ?

berkeman
Mentor
am looking for an ultrasonic sensor with a range up to 16-18 feet for very low costs (<$10).
Can you say what the application is? What accuracy and resolution do you need?

Optical systems work much better at that sort of distance . Could you just use a cheap ready made laser distance measuring device ?
I am open to any type of proximity device. The main constraints are price and range. Considering a lot of proximity sensors do not work through a solid medium, maybe a laser sensor would be better + I could conceal

Can you say what the application is? What accuracy and resolution do you need?