Advice/Opinion: Four years vs. Five years

• Thread starter poobar
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Years
In summary, the conversation revolves around a physics undergraduate student who is currently in their third year but is only in their second year of the physics curriculum. Their advisor suggests doubling up on courses in order to graduate on time, but the student is concerned about handling the workload and is considering taking an extra year. There is a discussion about whether an extra year will affect their chances for graduate school and the importance of maintaining a good GPA. The student explains that they transferred midway through their sophomore year and got last pick for courses. Ultimately, it is agreed that it is better to take the time to be well-prepared for graduate school rather than rushing through and potentially risking a lower GPA.
poobar
I am currently a physics undergrad at a state school with a decent physics program (as far as I know). This is my third year as a college student, but I am only in the second year of the physics undergraduate curriculum here. If I continue at the current pace, I will graduate a year late, with the current sophomores. My advisor thinks that I should double up on my courses so that I can graduate with the current juniors or take one extra semester. This would essentially put me through the junior and senior years of the physics curriculum at the same time. For instance, next semester I will be taking quantum physics and a senior level E+M course, along with other physics courses. I fear that this workload will be far too much to handle. Since none of you personally know me, I am not asking whether or not this is too much work.