What are some key results in algebraic number theory and how can they be proven?

In summary: This is useful in proving things like the ones you mentioned, where the results involve multiple roots or multiple elements. In summary, Conjugation is a useful tool in algebraic number theory for proving results involving multiple elements or roots by mapping them to other representatives in an extension field. It is often discussed in textbooks on abstract algebra or algebraic number theory.
Diophantus
Hi all,

I have been studying the Pisot-Vijayaraghavan numbers recently however I have little background in the basic theory of algebraic numbers. There are a number of standard results which the texts give without proof and which I haven't yet been able to prove myself.

Here are a few that are bugging me:

Let a = a(1) be an algebraic integer with conjugates a(2) , ... , a(k), then a(1), a(2), ... ,a(k) are distict.

Let a = a(1) be an algebraic integer with conjugates a(2) , ... , a(k), then a^n = a(1)^n is an algebraic integer with conjugates a(2)^n , ... , a(k)^n.

Let a = a(1) be an algebraic integer with conjugates a(2) , ... , a(k) and let P(x) be a monic polynomial with rational integer coefficients, then P(a) =/= 0 implies P(a(i)) =/= 0 for all i = 2 , ... , k.

Let a = a(1) be an algebraic integer with conjugates a(2) , ... , a(k) and let P(x) be a monic polynomial with rational integer coefficients, then P(a) is an algebraic integer with conjugates P(a(2)) , ... , P(a(k)).

Any hints on how to prove the above would be very useful.

Regards.

Physics news on Phys.org
Let a = a(1) be an algebraic integer with conjugates a(2) , ... , a(k), then a(1), a(2), ... ,a(k) are distict.
The conjugates of a are the roots of the minimal polynomial f of a. Assume f has a repeated root. Derive a contradiction. Derivatives will be useful. (Do you know f is irreducible?)