Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Algebraic Number Theory

1. Oct 18, 2006 #1
    Hi all,

I have been studying the Pisot-Vijayaraghavan numbers recently however I have little background in the basic theory of algebraic numbers. There are a number of standard results which the texts give without proof and which I haven't yet been able to prove myself.

Here are a few that are bugging me:

Let a = a(1) be an algebraic integer with conjugates a(2) , ... , a(k), then a(1), a(2), ... ,a(k) are distict.

Let a = a(1) be an algebraic integer with conjugates a(2) , ... , a(k), then a^n = a(1)^n is an algebraic integer with conjugates a(2)^n , ... , a(k)^n.

Let a = a(1) be an algebraic integer with conjugates a(2) , ... , a(k) and let P(x) be a monic polynomial with rational integer coefficients, then P(a) =/= 0 implies P(a(i)) =/= 0 for all i = 2 , ... , k.

Let a = a(1) be an algebraic integer with conjugates a(2) , ... , a(k) and let P(x) be a monic polynomial with rational integer coefficients, then P(a) is an algebraic integer with conjugates P(a(2)) , ... , P(a(k)).

Any hints on how to prove the above would be very useful.

Regards.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 18, 2006 #2

Hurkyl

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The conjugates of a are the roots of the minimal polynomial f of a. Assume f has a repeated root. Derive a contradiction. Derivatives will be useful. (Do you know f is irreducible?)

Let f be the minimal polynomial of a. If P(a(i)) = 0, does that tell you something?

At the moment, the only way I see for sure to prove the other two involves conjugation. Are you familiar with that? Or any Galois theory? (at least one of the above is also easy to prove via conjugation)

4. Nov 3, 2006 #3
    Hi Hurkyl,