1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Math Applying for academic jobs

1. Nov 8, 2017 #1
    Hello,
    I'm new to this forum. I have recently graduated with a doctorate in mathematics and I'm now a visiting assistant professor at a university in Ohio. My contract expires in May 2018, so I've been frantically applying to any type of academic job opening in my field (specifically complex analysis) to commence in August of 2018. I have heard nothing from any of the colleges I've applied to. I have a decent amount of research work (3 published papers so far) considering I'm a new Ph.D, however, no interviews. Is complex analysis very unpopular now or am I missing something?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 8, 2017 #2
    Even though applications are often due in the Fall, in many of the cases where I applied for jobs, I did not hear anything or be asked for interviews until the late Winter or Spring.

You should also broaden the scope of your search and begin applying for math teaching positions at community colleges and universities with more of a teaching than a research focus. A lot of those job ads will just be appearing about now and will continue to appear until March or April.

4. Nov 8, 2017 #3
    Thank you! I have applied to many teaching schools. But as a new Ph.D I have very little experience teaching compared to other applicants.

5. Nov 8, 2017 #4
    I made sure to get plenty of TA and tutoring experience in grad school, thinking it might go that way, and it did. But you must be teaching now, so you have at least a year of experience. If needed, add another course or two to your spring teaching load.