Automatic detection using wireless sensors

In summary, the conversation discusses designs for a system that can automatically detect when a person is inside their office. The suggested methods include using a pressure sensor on the office chair, an RFID tag in their ID badge, a motion sensor at the door, or an IP camera with face recognition software. There is also a mention of using a strip switch on the chair or tethering the person to the desk. The conversation ends with a humorous mention of the need for uninterrupted spaces in the workplace.
Mpume
I am designing a system that must automatically detect if a person is inside their office. The trick here now is that there are people going in and out and i just want to detect the owner of the office. Tracking them is useless since the average office sizes are not big, 5m width maximum so my next best bet is to have pressure sensor on the chair.

Please help coz I've never used these before and it seems like there are so many variations.

Thanx :-)

Engineering news on Phys.org
How about an RFID tag in their ID badge (asuuming they have ID badges)? It seems strange that the lights would only turn on for the "owner" of the office however, it should really turn on any time someone walks in (in which case you can use a simple motion sensor).

Mpume said:
I am designing a system that must automatically detect if a person is inside their office. The trick here now is that there are people going in and out and i just want to detect the owner of the office. Tracking them is useless since the average office sizes are not big, 5m width maximum so my next best bet is to have pressure sensor on the chair.

Please help coz I've never used these before and it seems like there are so many variations.

Thanx :-)

What is the application? You could just use the existing systems for monitoring inmates who are on house arrest...