• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products Here!

Average water mass flow rate

Hey, I'm a student who has to complete a written assignment for physics. I chose to launch water rockets and investigate the effect of volume on the range. I am trying to also come up with a mathematical model however I am struggling to understand an equation

I found the following equation to calculate the average mass flow rate:

ṁ = A * Cd * √(2ρΔP)
(https://www.palmbeachschools.org/sc/wpcontent/uploads/sites/85/2016/05/Bottle_Rocket_Calculations_Simplified.pdf)

Where:
ṁ is the mass flow rate
A is the area of the nozzle
Cd is the coefficient of drag
p is the density
and ΔP is the average Pressure acting on the water

Does anyone know where this equation is derived from cause I can't find it anywhere?

Thanks in advance for all replies.

Answers and Replies

This equation starts out from ##\dot{m}=\rho v A##, where v is the exit velocity. Are you familiar with that equation, which is the same as the volumetric flow rate times the density? If the exit velocity were determined by the Bernoulli equation, then it would satisfy:
$$\frac{1}{2}\rho v^2=\Delta P$$##C_d## is a nozzle discharge factor to correct for nozzle shape and non-Bernoulli deviation. It is typically on the order of unity.

This equation starts out from ##\dot{m}=\rho v A##, where v is the exit velocity. Are you familiar with that equation, which is the same as the volumetric flow rate times the density? If the exit velocity were determined by the Bernoulli equation, then it would satisfy:
$$\frac{1}{2}\rho v^2=\Delta P$$##C_d## is a nozzle discharge factor to correct for nozzle shape and non-Bernoulli deviation. It is typically on the order of unity.
Thanks so much, I now understand. I watched some videos and found this helpful diagram:
bernoul.gif

But I don't see how to get the average pressure(ΔP) from Bernoulli's???

Attachments