Bandwidth & GFSK: Calculate Data Rate & Increase Frequency?

• Thread starter sonurobots
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Bandwidth
In summary, a radio channel has a bandwidth just like a low-pass filter has a cut-off frequency. The data rate through a low pass filter or radio channel cannot be greater than the actual bandwidth of that channel. To measure the frequency of a 1 MHz sinewave to one part in 1 thousand requires a 1 MHz * 1kHz = 1 GHz clock. Now a nice clean sinewave has a measurable frequency, but when you add other noise to that sinewave it is no longer possible to identify where the critical zero crossings are to within 1 nanosecond. To find those zero crossings you must fit a sine wave to the received signal, that will take one whole cycle per measurement. Detection is
sonurobots
Hello, I have a doubt how data rate is calculated in GFSK ? I am new to RF. so please describe.my second question is why can"t we change frequency faster for high data rate? a typical 433Mhz transceiver hardly gives 100Kbits only why?

Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF.
The FSK data must pass through the very narrow 433MHz channel allocation without causing co-channel interference. The Gaussian filter is probably being used to remove the broadband “key clicks” generated by the bit transitions.

if i am not wrong, we need at least 2 frequencies in FSK .why can't we use two nearer frequencies for that let's say 433,000,005= 1 & 433,000,006=0 .can a frequency detector detect that much change?

Yes it can, but with only a 1Hz difference you would have to sample for one entire second before you knew for sure which it was.
Data rate is proportional to the bandwidth.
1Hz BW is about 1 bit per second.
100 kHz BW is about 100 kbps.