What Determines the Charge Needed for a Spark Between Two Objects?

In summary: I think you misunderstood my question. I was wondering if a material that is high in relative permittivity (such as a capacitor) would be able to stop an electrical attraction between two objects. For example, if I had two metal plates and put an insulator between them, would the charges on the plates build up to the point where the attraction would no longer be possible?
error404
hello folks,

Actually I'm not an engineer, but i have a couple of questions regarding electricity and i hope i am posting this in the right forum :)

1- when there's a charged object, that comes close to another object, a spark tends to happen between them, so that the charged body emptys the charge it holds.
My questions is: what is the rule that governs the amount of charge required to generate this spark in respect to the distance between the 2 objects?

2-I was looking for objects with high Relative permittivity and found a table on wikipedia telling that there are objects with an ε over 200,000. does this mean that, these objects cannot hold any charge practically?

thanks guys :)

Engineering news on Phys.org
Hey,

My answer:

1. spark is caused due to electric field breakdown. i.e. every material (such as air) has E-field strength. If E applied is more than this strength. The material breaksdown and material would act as conduct till the E-applied is short. Good example of it is lightning. You can read more about it from wiki.

2. relative permittivity is used for dielectrics. Its technical definition has to do with polarization effects. If epsilon is high it means it can store more power. If you are familiar with capacitors. Power is capacitor is proportional to capacitance. Which in turn is proportional to electric permittivity of the dielectric. So, more the dielectric more energy it can store. Other property is that, more the permittivity of a material slower the propagation speed.

Hope this helps.