Best career move? Opportunity at a local community college....

In summary: Hello all,In summary, the individual is seeking advice on their career path. They have left a job as an actuarial analyst to pursue a financial analyst position, but have returned to their previous company due to a negative work environment. They are now obtaining a master's degree in finance and economics and considering a benefits analyst position at a local community college. They are afraid of missing out on this opportunity and are unsure of whether to apply and figure it out later or discuss it with their current employer. Others suggest applying for the job and negotiating a start date if selected, but not getting too attached to their current job as it is ultimately about the bottom line.
Modest Abe
Hello all,

I could really use some advice. Here's my backstory:
I used to work as an actuarial analyst; however, I wanted to get into a job that actually does more in the way of value creation in the economy. I want to do this as I want to eventually be in a position that allows me to sort of work in a field that "practices" sensible economics. As well, I want a position that has a strong future--health insurance, IMO is not it due primarily to Affordable Care Act and the merging of major insurance carriers.
Now, I left my company for a financial analyst position with a distribution company. That only lasted a few months, because the environment was terrible. I am a great worker with great skills, and their's was an environment of nepotism, rudeness, and low employee morale. I contacted my previous company and am now back--a higher salary, and I don't have to do actuarial work anymore. I'm now obtaining my master in finance and economics, because I want to also teach it eventually...primarily I want to teach economics.