1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Block Diagrams - Control Engineering. Basic Question

1. Nov 22, 2011 #1

Femme_physics

Gold Member

(Go on easy on me, this is my first attempt and first course at control engineering)

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

In systems who has a huge consumption of hot water, such as food factories, chemical industries or hospitals, it's customary to heat the water through fuel type "mazut". the hot water supply is modifiable, according to consumers use. The changes in water supply affect the hot water temperature. The control system in the drawing is based on regulating the fuel supply to the blowtorch.

http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/4324/schemeeng.jpg [Broken]

Build a block diagram of the system, when the entrance and exit signal are the desire temperature (Tr) and the existing temperature (Tc) of the hot water.

3. The attempt at a solution

http://img842.imageshack.us/img842/320/61723306.jpg [Broken]

Last edited by a moderator: May 5, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 22, 2011 #2
    Your diagram doesn't seem right to me. The desired temperature is an input to the system. Nothing should go into this input (no arrows should point to Tr block). You don't have any arrows in your diagram, which makes it hard to determine what is an input to a block, and what is an output. This kind of block diagram should have arrows.

The desired temperature is specified with an adjustable voltage. The desired temperature signal would not come from a transmitter, and I'm not sure sensor is the right word either. The diagram for this input indicates the desired temperature signal (Ur) comes from a potentiometer. A person would adjust the potentiometer to set the desired temperature.