Blocking electro-magnetic waves between two near field antennas

In summary: You could try a directional coupler, but it will be less than ideal since the antennas are not in line of sight. If the antennas are close enough, you could try a low-pass filter in the feed line.
Manoj7500
Its been a while since I studied physics, so pardon my ignorance.

I have two near field antennas (NFC). The range of the antennas is about 2-3 cm. I am looking for a way where I can block and unblock the communication between them.

One of the way that I tried is to place a flat tightly woven wire (shown below) between the two antennas like a sandwich. If I short the two ends of the wire, I was able to block the communication. My assumption is that it is effectively reflecting the signal and thus blocking the signal. Is that what is happening?

If I un-short the two ends, then, two antennas are able to communicate without any issue.

However, if the radio signal has good strength, the coil is not doing a good job. Is there any other better solution that I can effectively block/unblock.

I could just put a sheet of metal in between but I chose the wire solution so that I can block/unblock using a relay controlled via electronics. Can someone suggest a better solution ?

spiral.png

Physics news on Phys.org
Because your antennas are very close they are highly coupled. It will not be possible to completely isolate them. All you can do is attempt to reduce or null their coupling. The method you use will be determined by the signal. Are they broadband or narrowband signals. The best method will also be dependent on the direction of energy flow and why you need to isolate them.