1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Book advice for preparation graduate class

1. Feb 20, 2013 #1
    hi,

i'm an agriculture engineer and i want to take graduate degree in Physics -especially Astrophysics. i'm 36 years old. i need to remember many course. therefore, i'm searching best books in this forum. but i can't make a decision which them are the best...

also i have these books

Physics for Scientist and Engineers - Giancoli
    University Physics with Modern Physics - Young & Freedman
    Physics for Scientist and Engineers - Jewett / Serwey
    Principles of Physics - Halliday - Resnick - Walker
    Modern Physics from alpha to zeta - James William Rohlf
    Berkeley Physics Courses - Mechanics
    Berkeley Physics Courses - Electric and Magnetism

according to you, these books are enough for preparation (graduate class) or i need anothers...

from now, thanks your advices

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 20, 2013 #2
    What exactly do you mean by "graduate class"?

4. Feb 20, 2013 #3
    sorry my English... it mean Master of Science Program..

5. Feb 20, 2013 #4
    What classes are you exactly looking at? all the books you listed are first year undergraduate texts.

I'm not sure what an agricultural degree entails, but if you want to major in physics for an MSc, you need a BSc first.

6. Feb 20, 2013 #5
    i'm from Turkey. and i can take Msc without Bsc. of course, first i have to pass science exam of the institute. science exam covers 1. and 2. years courses (according to your system first year undergraduate courses)... after i must take scientific prep. courses. then i can start Msc program.