Can a physicist study neuroscience?

In summary, the path to becoming a neuroscientist can vary depending on individual circumstances. The most common route is to go to graduate school in neuroscience, but there are other paths such as transitioning from a different field or pursuing a medical degree. It is important to carefully consider one's strengths and interests in order to find the best fit in the field of neuroscience.
Non Euclidean
Hello, I am a undergraduate student in physics. In the future, i want to be neuroscientist. What can i do?

Physics news on Phys.org
The most obvious path is to go to graduate school in neuroscience. The next step for that would be to look at various graduate programs and understand what there admissions requirements are.

There are other paths. In grad school, I watched one of my mentors, Michael Feld, transition from AMO physics to heart science. A list of his publications is easily searchable on Google Scholar:

https://scholar.google.com/scholar?hl=en&as_sdt=0,11&q=Michael+Feld+Heart&btnG=

With that as inspiration, when the time came, I moved from AMO physics to a number of scholarly papers in brain injury:

https://scholar.google.com/scholar?...hael+Courtney+Amy+Courtney+brain+injury&btnG=

There are many paths other than earning a PhD in a field, though I expect earning a PhD in the desired field is the easiest one. Having transitioned to a few other fields also, my approach to transitioning to fields other than AMO physics usually looks something like this:

1. Read a lot of published papers in the field of interest.
2. Consider carefully what niche in the new field is a good match for my talents.
3. Brainstorm the idea with colleagues who know my strengths and weaknesses.
4. Read a lot more published papers in the new field of interest.
5. Get feedback from established scientists in the new field of interest.