Can I send timed voltage with just capacitors or do I need a microcontroller?

• Thread starter absurdparadox
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Voltage
In summary, the new user wants to be able to hit a switch that will send voltage X number of times for Y seconds at an interval of every Z seconds. He is unsure of what a microcontroller or CPLD would be needed for, but is open to suggestions.
absurdparadox
Hey guys, I'm basically extremely new to all this sort of stuff -- the most advanced thing I've done is wire up some electronics on my car (nitrous kit with extra safety electronics, etc, basically just splicing in and cutting wires)

Anyway, I've got an idea for something I want to try out on the car, but I'm a bit out of my realm, and not even sure what to search for.

Long story short, I would like to be able to hit a switch that would then send voltage X number of times for Y seconds at an interval of every Z seconds (say, it would close the circuit 5 times for 1 second each, every 3 seconds).

Is this something that would require a microcontroller or something of that sort, or could I do it with some sort of circuit involving only capacitors? Go easy on me, I barely know what I'm talkin about here, lol!

Engineering news on Phys.org
Hi and welcome to the Forum.

You probably could do that with discrete components, (although sending 5 one second pulses every 3 seconds seems a bit difficult !), but a simple micro could do it much more easily.

Do you have an actual project in mind? Why would you want to do this?

If you click on this link, you will see a discussion from last year, where different micros were mentioned.
https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=331073

Don't be frightened of micros. They take a little getting used to, but they have good help available and you don't need to know all the possible commands to use them.