Can I skip my masters and go on to getting my PhD in Physics?

In summary, many physics graduate programs in the US are immediate PhD programs where the first 1-2 years are spent taking classes and doing light research. After that, it is mainly full-time research with some additional classes. It is common for these programs to fully cover tuition and provide a stipend for teaching and research. It is also possible to skip the masters and go straight to a PhD, but it may be a risk if one does not have a strong foundation in the basics.
fvirani786
I am currently a sophomore in college majoring in Physics. I was wondering after my undergraduate can I skip my Masters and move onto my PhD ,if so how much of a risk would it be? I honestly don't want to end up teaching as a career ,but rather be researching instead. All I really know right now is my PhD could be paid for...is that true?

Physics news on Phys.org
Academic guidance forum?

My impression is that many PhD students often have an unsatisfactory knowledge of the basics...

In the US, almost all physics graduate programs are immediate PhD programs. Typically, the first 1-2 years are spent taking classes and doing light research, which is effectively the 'masters' portion of the program. After that, besides a few classes here and there, it's full time research. A lot of programs won't even give you the masters degree unless you either a) go out of your way to request it or b) fail to get a PhD.

Also in the US, it's almost gauranteed that your tuition will be paid in full by the physics department. On top of that, you will be given a stipend (16k~35k) for your services as a teaching/research assistant.

I understand your eagerness to continue your education and pursue a PhD in Physics. However, I would caution against skipping your master's degree and going straight into a PhD program.