1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can we use differentiation in Real analysis?

1. Jul 12, 2013 #1
    I'm a beginner to Real Analysis, My problem is, Can we use differentiation when we have to find Suprimum or Infimum for a given set?

A = {(x)^(1/x) | x in N}
    I got Sup(A) = e^(1/e) by using differentiation. is it a correct way to find Sup(A)?
    or is there any other way to find Sup(A) ?

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 12, 2013 #2

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

x is restricted to the natural numbers. You cannot differentiate functions on natural numbers, and e is certainly not a natural number.

You can use the extension of the set to the real numbers (and the derivative there) to show things like ##x^{1/x} > (x+1)^{1/(x+1)}## for x>e.

4. Jul 12, 2013 #3

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

If x= 1, [itex]x^{1/x}= 1^1= 1[/itex].
    If x= 2, [itex]x^{1/x}= 2^{1/2}= \sqrt{2}[/itex] or about 1.414
    If x= 3, [itex]x^{1/x}= 3^{1/3}= \sqrt[3]{3}[/itex] or about 1.442
    If x= 4, [itex]x^{1/x}= 4^{1/4}= \sqrt[4]{4}= \sqrt{2}[/itex] or about 1.414
    If x= 5, [itex]x^{1/x}= 5^{1/5}= \sqrt[4]{5}[/itex] or about 1.380
    If x= 6, [itex]x^{1/x}= 6^{1/6}= \sqrt[6]{6}[/itex] or about 1.348

Do you see what is happening? What do you think is the maximum of this set? Do you see that because "x in N" the "supremum" is the same as the "maximum"? The infimum will be harder!

5. Jul 12, 2013 #4

vanhees71

Science Advisor
    2016 Award

One can use differentiation to check, where the function has an extremum, and then it's easy to check where it takes a maximum for natural numbers.

I'd also take the logarithm before, i.e., setting [itex]f(x)=x^{1/x}[/itex], I'd investigate
    [tex]g(x)=\ln[f(x)]=\frac{\ln x}{x}.[/tex]

6. Jul 12, 2013 #5