Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Car battery -- charging questions

1. Jun 9, 2016 #1
    Hello,

I am a Telecommunications student who does not have a lot clue about cars.Does a car charges up its battery when it moves? What power supply is used for lighting in car, the battery? So if car charges the battery when it moves, why sometimes external/additional charging of battery is vital ?

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 9, 2016 #2

anorlunda

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The engine in the car spins the alternator. The alternator produces DC energy to charge the battery, and to power lights, radios and so on.

If for some reason the battery can't start the engine, then external energy must be supplied.

4. Jun 9, 2016 #3
    I appreciate your answer. How many alternators are in the car? 4? or 2?

5. Jun 9, 2016 #4

anorlunda

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Usually one. Do you have a car nearby? You can open the hood, see the engine and the alternator.

6. Jun 9, 2016 #5
    Unfortunately, I don't have a car nearby.But how much power does it output so a battery charges?What about its speed ?

7. Jun 9, 2016 #6

anorlunda

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

A typical alternator can make 50 amps at 14 volts. That's a lot.

A voltage regulator controls the alternator so the speed doesn't matter much.

Here is a picture of a car engine. The alternator is the part spun by the rubber belt.

FQ8FSGTFOVXOSBT.MEDIUM.jpg

8. Jun 9, 2016 #7

davenn

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

the car doesn't need to be moving ... the engine only has to be running

around 14V at a few amps. The alternator rotor spinning speed is around that of the engine revs so as the engine revs faster so does the alternator

have a look at this pic that I put some text on ......

upload_2016-6-10_7-49-31.png